Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of
God’s grace in its various forms.  – 1 Peter 4:10
God has gifted people to serve in different ways. The following people provide
leadership for our church and school.



Our church is lead by our church council which is comprised of elders, deacons and the pastor(s). The council serves by providing oversight to the congregation and normally meets on the 3rd Tuesday of the month. Elders are deacons serve three year terms.

  • Elders meet separately to oversee the life and doctrine of the congregation, exercise admonition and discipline, provide pastoral care and exercise admonition and discipline.

  • Deacons meet separately to administer the mercy of Christ, promote faithful, obedient stewardship on behalf of the needy and work to promote unity of word and deed.

Elders:                                                   Deacons:

Tim Helmerich                                    Mike Casey
Russ Center                                          Chris Herrera
Stan Glenz                                            Lesa LaWall
Randy Wester                                      Mary Domite

In addition to their general duties as elders and deacons, each council member serves as the liaison for one or more ministries.


The current responsibilities are:

  • Worship (Praise Team and Prayer) – Tim Helmerich

  • Families (Children’s and Youth Ministries) – Tim Helmerich

  • Discipleship (Communities and Faithwalking) – Randy Wester and Russ Center

  • Missions (Evangelism and Church Planting) – Russ Center

  • Care & Hospitality (Connectors and Care Team) – Stan Glenz and Mary Domite

  • Our School (School Board) – Lesa LaWall

  • Stewardship (Facilities and Finance) – Chris Herrera and Randy Wester

  • Mercy & Justice (Service and Partnership Teams) – Mike Casey and Stan Glenz.


NOTE: Randy Wester serves as our Treasurer.


School Board

Our school is one of the most important ministries of our church. As such, it is overseen by a separate board which reports to our church council. Our school director reports to the school board. Our school board normally meets on the second Tuesday of the month. School Board members are appointed by the council. We also have a council liaison that is a member of the school board.



  • Shelly Andrews

  • Dawn Dobbs Smith (School Director)

  • Lesa LaWall (Council Liaison, President)

  • Rob Peterpaul (Secretary)

  • Scott Schreiber

  • Andy Sytsma (Pastor, Vice President)

New Life Logo.png

Call us:


Find us: 

2050 FM 2920    Spring   TX   77388

Email us: 


© 2020 New Life Church